We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Vierte Tafelmusik

by Lärmschutz

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €5 EUR  or more


d'Improviso 12:13
Sonata am 11:45
Bone Jesu 11:26
Preludio XXI 14:29
Amarili 12:45


"Tafelmusik" is a Barok-era term used since the mid-16th century for music played at feasts and banquets, often employing basso continuo. Lärmschutz takes these bass lines, designed as a startpoint of bass improvisation in the classical piece, and makes their own improvisations around these themes, reshaping them into entirely new free music.

In September 2016 Lärmschutz released the first part of the ongoing series on Weakiediscs. "Zweite Tafelmusik" was then released in collaboration with Thorn Kollektiv, and the third part was released by Lurker Bias.

Now it’s time for the fourth installment, for which Lärmschutz invited back some old friends (Jan and Ab) and welcomed some new ones (Daniel and Simon). This time the emphasis lays on the horns: trumpet, saxophone, and trombone.

Once again these recordings are unedited. Every piece was played one time and one time only. The way they are presented here is unique and will never be the same again.


Tafelmusik: larmschutz.bandcamp.com/album/tafelmusik-weakie-discs

Zweite Tafelmusik: larmschutz.bandcamp.com/album/zweite-tafelmusik

Dritte Tafelmusik: larmschutz.bandcamp.com/album/dritte-tafelmusik-lurker-bias-records-chicago


Get a physical cassette copy at fauxamisrecords.bandcamp.com

Get your digital version at Katuktu: katuktucollective.bandcamp.com/album/vierte-tafelmusik

The version over there features a download only bonustrack: Preludio XII.


released August 27, 2018

Lärmschutz Tafelmusik Septet:

Jan: Keys, percussion
Ab: Bass
Thanos: Prepared piano
Simon: Saxophone
Daniel: Trumpet
Stef: Guitar
Rutger: Trombone




Lärmschutz Utrecht, The Netherlands

Free-improvised brass and string noise-punk from Utrecht, the Netherlands.

Lärmschutz is: Stef Brans: guitar, stuff on strings
Rutger van Driel: trombone, electronics, bass

contact / help

Contact Lärmschutz

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Lärmschutz, you may also like: